Time to Give Back!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately and for as long as I can remember I’ve been painting. I had all of those little watercolor sets when I was little and then started taking oil painting when I was 9 and fell in love. I’m only truly happy and free when there is a brush in my hand. I may enjoy many facets of the art world but I think painting is my true love. When I was little I remember my mom taping paper to the walls for me to paint and draw on throughout the day. She didn’t want to stunt my creativity but at the same time didn’t want me drawing all over the house! I think that’s when my love of murals truly started. I love working large and working on walls is definitely a passion of mine.

With all of that said I’ve decided to start a mural business on the side of my many other projects!

I love to be busy and I love art and would love to share the talent with everyone. I’ve been painting murals for my son for years and now with another one on the way I find myself spending any spare time in the two bedrooms repainting them. My 8 yr old is getting a Lego Ninjago theme and the nursery is getting a dragon’s castle. I’m having so much fun!

With my new side leg of business I’ve decided that I also want to give back to the community and have a love of animals, I’m allergic to pet dander but have 2 cats and a dog and love them with all of my heart. The two cats were strays that we took in and the dog was a rescue from a foster company, they saved his mother and she ended up having 10 puppies while in their care. To show my appreciation for everything that they do I want to give back 10% of my earnings from murals to this organization Paws and Prayers (http://www.pawsandprayers.org/) I may not be able to take anymore pets into my house for the time being but still want to take care of these animals and make sure they find great new homes and hope my donations will truly help them.

What ventures are you working on right now and in what ways are you giving back to the community? I’m always looking for great stories to share and great new ideas that I may be a part of as well. Thanks for sharing!

4 thoughts on “Time to Give Back!

  1. Wow. Your murals look great so far. You are so very talented.

    And good for you for giving back. I rescued my two cats from a no-kill shelter a few years ago, and I try to make a donation every year on the anniversary of us adopting the boys. I also participate in Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, and I help out with Operation Shoebox for the troops. My son sends all his Halloween candy to them, since he doesn’t eat candy that often.

    1. That’s great of you and your son for giving back. I’m trying to find a way for my son to get more involved too, giving away his Halloween candy is a great idea, he really doesn’t eat much of it either. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Hi from the Etsy blogging team! Your murals are fantastic! I think it’s a wonderful thing that your mother never stopped you from being artistic as a child. My father always tried to stop me and make me play sports instead of acting, dancing, singing, drawing, painting, etc, but I never stopped….now I’ve graduated from college and majored in Interior Design. He has a cabinet business and he’s hired me because I can do work he can’t do on the computer since I went to design school. And he’s so proud of me for my creativity now. 🙂
    I think that’s a great idea for you to give back to Paws and Prayers! I’m all for adopting rescued animals. I volunteer at ARF in Walnut Creek, I’m a Cat Care Partner and a Greeter which is pretty fun, I’m there each week for cat care and like once a month for greeting.
    You have a very nice blog 🙂

    Jamie
    pipersplacestudio.virb.com

    1. I completely understand, my dad never really wanted me to go into art either or if I was going to stay creative he wanted me to do something mainstream like Graphic Design so I’d be able to get more jobs even though it’s not what I really wanted. Sounds like a great time volunteering for ARF, I would love to volunteer and help out at a shelter but spare time is harder and harder to come by these days! I’m so glad there are people like you out there that can help take care of the animals they really need our help. Thanks for the compliments!
      Melissa

Leave a Reply

