Spring Forward

I cannot believe it’s already time to change our clocks and spring forward! I don’t know about you but this year is flying by. I’m really looking forward to spring and our days getting longer and actually seeing the sun shining when I leave work at 5PM.

alarm clock vintage image graphicsfairy6c

I’m also being inspired by the simple phrase “spring forward”, this time of year we always use it in reference to changing our clocks but I love the idea of springing forward in life and with our goals. Though I’ve been keeping busy the past few weeks, I’ve also found myself in a bit of a rutt mentally (could be these long cold and dreary days) and just haven’t been able to find my way out. I want to be able to take this weekend and take a big leap forward with my personal goals and business and I want to get outside a little bit and enjoy the warm weather we’re supposed to have come our way. I think it’s a great time of year to look at our goals that we made at New Years and see if we’re on track and possibly create new goals for the remainder of the year.

As I was doing some catch up reading yesterday I was going through last year’s issues of HOW Design magazine and ran across one article that talked about the difference between your Mission and Vision statements and how you should have those in place and set them up around you as a reminder of what you’re working towards and who you are. Reading this article got me to thinking about how I don’t have anything in place and though I know where I want to go and who I want to be it may be helpful to jot it down, then I realized it was going to be a lot harder to place all of those thoughts into two little sentences! So here’s my rough draft, as I continue to think about this it may change but here are my Mission and Vision statements:

Mission Statement: Artist that creates one of a kind designs in many different mediums for all walks of life.

Vision Statement: To become a strong peer in the art industry while giving back and serving our community.

Do you have statements in place for your business? What are they? I’d love to hear about them, please share yours in the comments above!

Leave a Reply

