Heart Vs. Brain

How was everyone’s weekend?!

Mine was fabulous, we really didn’t do anything too spectacular or out of the ordinary but the weather finally warmed up here in NE Ohio and we finally got to take the kids out of the house and go for a little hike in the park. It was so refreshing to get out and just get up and moving again. I felt like we were just hibernating all winter long!

Every time I get to go outside and take walks through the park or go for a bike ride I always find great inspiration all around. I think that’s another reason why this weekend was so invigorating!

I feel like I’m being pulled in two different directions right now though. I’m getting ready to restructure my business and can’t wait to get started, however, I’ve also signed up for a new craft show in May that I need to finish making things for. This part of me just wants to push that aside and get going on the new stuff, the stuff that’s giving me great inspiration and hope. But then my brain kicks back in reminding me of what I NEED to do and I will soon be able to follow my heart.

I’m sure many of you out there have run into similar scenarios where your brain and your heart are telling you different things. I’d love to hear about your stories, please share them in the comments above!

6 thoughts on “Heart Vs. Brain

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about with heart vs. brain. I am loving painting furniture now and creating new pieces. However, I went to school to be a teacher and am suppose to student teach this fall. I subbed this year at the elementary level and to my surprise did not like what I experienced. The children were not the problem, it was the adults and the administration. I have many stories about what I witnessed and went through, but frankly do not even want to go there. I do not even want to think about it. Anyways, I wish I could make enough painting so I could afford health insurance. I really dread being a teacher and working in a toxic environment, it literally makes me ill. So I am in a major dilemma right now and am torn with what to do. One side tells me to be practical and teach another side tells me life is too short an do what makes me happy. Ugh! It is agonizing.

    1. Yes, I know exactly what you mean! I’m actually venturing off to paint and do more illustrations. I know it will definitely be a little slow going at first but it’s what my heart is telling me to do. And you’re right, it’s just scary what the school districts are like, I have a couple of friends who are teachers plus I have a 9 yr old so I know the parent perspective of things. Perhaps you could do your paintings on the side while teaching full time and then make the transition in a few years!

      1. I was thinking the same thing Melissa. I need to get my certification just in case I need to teach. I am not as young as you ha ha (I am turning 44 on the 19th.) So not a lot of time to think about the future. Oh well I know I will always have my art and that can always wait when I have summer breaks I suppose.

      2. What do you illustrate? I love children’s literature and illustrations in the books that are high quality. Do you do art as your full-time job?

  2. Yes, as long as you keep working on your projects it will continue to give you inspiration.
    I’ve been doing pen and ink illustrations with a Japanese influence and also love doing portraits but want to start doing more of a whimsical feeling too, I would love to illustrate children’s books one day. As I read them to my kids I often think about working with a writer or even starting a book of my own!

Leave a Reply

