Patterns Are Coming!

First I would like to say that my thoughts and prayers go out to everyone who was at the Boston Marathon this past week. It was a terrible act and many innocent people are paying it.

As I’ve been planning and thinking about my business these past couple of weeks, I got yet another request for a crochet pattern for one of my children’s hats on Etsy.

il_570xN_422420362_g8dz

Now, I’m taken back to about a year or so ago when my now 9 year old son had told me that I should start selling the patterns to all of the items that I had been making. I told him it was a good idea but it just ended up on the back burner as I slaved away at creating new, fun items. Sitting down at the desk with my notebook of hatch marks and shorthand notes, typing away just didn’t seem as much fun at the time. But now I sit here thinking, why didn’t I listen to him sooner!

This recent request really couldn’t have come at a better time for me. Trying to figure out my best plan of attack to transition my business to a more fine art oriented business is going to take a little time and a lot of patience. I’m buying some supplies this week to work on some new crocheted necklaces and still plan on making items here and there for my knit/crochet shop, however, when this request for another pattern came through a light bulb went off! I really need to type these patterns up and sit down for a day or two and just crank away at it. Patterns are something that I need to put the time into at the beginning but then they can be sold repeatedly online, they can be sold fairly cheap which makes them desirable and I can just email them out to my customers. No more packaging it up and printing shipping labels.

As I transition my business this will be the perfect concept to help bring in a steady flow of income, small but steady, while putting my attention in other avenues.

With all of this said what patterns are most people interested in seeing available in my shop??? Please comment above and let me know, I would love to hear from you! And just for participating I’ll be giving you my latest pattern for free! Be sure to leave your email address in the comments or message me directly at mahager@gmail.com.

Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

