Fall Photos

As the seasons change I find myself breaking out my DSLR more and more and like most moms, photographing my kids! Over this past year of watching my little one grow I also love looking at the pics I’ve taken to see how much I’ve grown in technique.

I still remember when I got my camera about two years ago and was super excited to get it and learn all of its possibilities but then the package arrived on my doorstep. I remember just looking at the box then carefully opening the box and looking at the camera and then carefully packaging it back up so I wouldn’t hurt it. Boy was that fun, great investment! A brand new paperweight!! I was scared to death of this thing, in the back of my mind I kept thinking about how much I just paid for this thing and how I couldn’t let it get hurt. Then I would look at all of the buttons and the user manual and think to myself how do I just take a simple picture?? Not knowing how to operate it and not wanting to break it I would say it probably sat in its box on my desk for a good week or two before I got up the nerve to start playing around with it, after a plethora of questions to my boyfriend on the basics.

This past weekend was a little overcast, gray and cloudy out and I had my son dressed in his adorable Carhartt’s and suddenly had that urge, that creative urge to go out and photograph! Took my little man ¬†outside and after my first couple of locations in the backyard weren’t to his liking we finally found the wood pile to play in. The wood pile made a perfect backdrop, the overcast sky created the perfect lighting for mid day, no harsh sunlight creating strong shadows across my pictures, everything was perfect and since I let my little model pic the location he was happy and smiling in the pics!

Here are a few of my shots from the weekend. Let me know your thoughts and please feel free to give me any tips and advice on these as well, I love constructive criticism! Oh and yes, no digital editing done here, just pure digital photos!

1374716_10101828238342734_1816197921_n970377_10101828238866684_1528831404_n539113_10101828239814784_336398314_n1233560_10101828239685044_1141030784_n

Leave a Reply

