Marsala, Color of The Year

Impactful and full bodied are two adjectives that Pantone is using for the color of the year, Marsala! Love it or hate it the color will be trending for the year so I hope you get used to it.

PantoneMarsalaAlthough I love color, my immediate thoughts on Marsala are less than desirable. I’ve really been into many of the cool tones lately and the warmness of Marsala just wasn’t making an impact on me when I learned of the color. Don’t get me wrong, I do respect it for its rich, earthy and organic feeling.

I may not have chosen it for the color of the year but I must admit it does have its place as an accent or on its own in many design mediums. Its connection to the wine that gave its name to the color makes it a perfect hue for your kitchen or dining room. The many shades that this color can range from also give it great character and make it easy to incorporate into any design style be it interior or fashion. Matching your lipstick to your blouse in complementary shades of Marsala will not pose a problem this year.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the chosen color of the year. Do you love it or hate it? Or maybe you’re somewhere in between! Please share your insights below. I would love to hear them!

And if you’d like to incorporate the color into this year’s advertising materials please let me know, I’d love to put together some sketches for you!

Get more insight from Pantone and why they chose Marsala for the color of the year on their website!

Leave a Reply

