March Madness Fundraising

As I looked at my planner this weekend I realized just how many causes I’m working for at the moment. There are so many worthy causes out there and so many individuals that can use the support, just knowing that someone cares can make a world of difference to those in need.

I currently have three different fundraising efforts that I’m working for and at least one or two more in the near future.

st-jude-logoThe first organization that my family is trying to support is St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. They’ve always been at the forefront of organizations that I would like to help when and if the opportunity would present itself. My son came home from school the other week with a flyer saying that they would be doing a Math-a-thon to help raise funds for St. Jude and he looked at me and asked, “Can we do this?!” How do you say no to your child who eagerly wants to participate in a fundraiser for such a good cause? You don’t! I signed him up for the fundraiser and a week later we received our book of math problems for him to complete. When he told me he received the book from school he pulled it out of his book bag to show me and at the same time told me he already completed ALL of the problems! He’s well on his way to helping to raise funds for this worthy cause. I want to thank everyone that has contributed so far! If you’re interested in helping my son reach his goal and don’t live near us you may go to his fundraising page and pledge a specified dollar amount, they accept all major credit cards and paypal!

My second opportunity is actually a food drive for the Rescue Missionmission of the Mahoning Valley. I’ve been helping to head our corporate community service program at work and this year we chose to put all of our efforts into one organization in hopes of building a stronger bond with the organization and their clients. We chose the Rescue Mission because of their ability to not only help those in need by giving them shelter and three hot meals a day, every day of the year but also because they give those same people the opportunity to better themselves. They offer an academy for many to go through to learn the basics of resume building, employment and computer literacy. They help patrons learn how to manage their money so they are prepared for when they leave, they will be able to stand on their own two feet. Last month we volunteered to clean tables and serve meals in their kitchen, this month we’re doing a food drive and are collecting canned goods. Our drive runs through the end of March, if anyone would like to donate please contact me or you can also make a monetary contribution on their website.

SOMO logo center 2 colorLastly, I was approached by the Special Olympics of Missouri for a fundraiser that they are holding. I’ve always felt that the Special Olympics give opportunities to those who might not always have every door open to them and gives people the chance to feel normal without judgment. My shop Melissa Nagy Designs (Two of A Kind) is donating a gift certificate to their upcoming auction on April 9th to help support their cause. If you live in the St. Joseph, Missouri area please stop on out to their auction, it’s sure to be a good time and you could win a gift certificate to my shop! If you’re not in the area, like me, feel free to stop by their page and you can make monetary contributions there.

Phew, that’s a lot going on! And in about two more weeks I’m going to have an opportunity for you to participate in that will involve my shop and helping a very worthy cause that is near and dear to my heart so stay tuned!!

If you are interested in helping out with any of the above mentioned organizations please do not hesitate to contact me and I can get you any information needed. It feels so good to pay it forward and take a step back from your own life from time to time and look at the bigger picture. Thanks again for all of the support to those who have already made contributions!

Leave a Reply

