Half-Baked

Happy Spring!! I’m hoping mother nature realizes it’s spring and starts warming things up around here, I am ready!

Its official according to my midwife yesterday the baby is now ‘half-baked’! I couldn’t help but laugh when she told me that at my appointment. I’m sure she meant baked like a turkey but of course my mind has to take it another way HAHA

20150320_071320_resized

Either way I’m now halfway through this pregnancy, 20 weeks down, 20 more to go! I don’t know where the time has gone. Perhaps it’s flying by since I didn’t go to the doctor until I was about 11 weeks along and almost through with my first trimester but I feel like we’re just cruising. Maybe it’s the fact that I don’t have anything for this baby besides a few boxes of diapers and about four outfits.

Now I know why my sister always complained about being the baby of the family, being a parent you’re really out of that excitement and energy by the third kid. I’m not saying there’s less love, we’re all super excited to meet the little guy, but I already anticipate plenty of hand me downs from my older kids (even if it’s a girl). In the back of my mind I kind of know this one won’t have a super fancy scrapbook filled to the brim with pictures but will probably end up with a shoebox filled with loose pictures. Forget new toys, we have so many toys we don’t know what to do with them so I hope this one likes trucks, dinosaurs and swords! This one doesn’t even get a bedroom right now but we will make a little nook in the corner of our room for the bassinette.

As with my other pregnancies I know it will all come together somehow. No sense in worrying about the small details!

I followed through with my appointment yesterday and did NOT find out what we’re having. However, I must admit that I was trying to stare really hard at the monitor just in case I could catch a glimpse of something 😀 Ethan was with me though and was less than impressed with the ultrasound. In fact he really didn’t like that she turned out the lights in the room and it was dark. He kept me nice and distracted as I tried to lay still while making sure he wasn’t getting into anything he shouldn’t be. He really wanted to go home and stood close to the door and kept staring at it as if he was going to try and open it, he was also very tempted by the many drawer handles he kept seeing everywhere in the room, he was hugging my boots from time to time and even crawled under the stirrups so he could come to my bedside and hold my hand.

We did get plenty of fun pictures to take home and the 20150319_124709_resizeddoctor was able to get all of her measurements done before any meltdowns happened. In one of the pictures it even looked like the baby was yawning or talking to us! I always love getting the ultrasounds, makes you realize that there’s really a little person inside of you.

As with everything related to my belly Ethan was very protective of the pictures of his “baby sister” (Ethan believes strongly that he’s getting a sister and that this is HIS baby so I recommend not touching my belly in his presence or you will get yelled at. haha) and didn’t want either of the Drew’s looking at them.

Gotta love that “MINE” phase with toddlers!

Leave a Reply

