Quick and Easy Key Lime Pie Recipe

By Sunday night I found myself sitting on the couch realizing that it wasn’t Saturday anymore! Where did the weekend go? It was another busy weekend of preparing the garden for our little sprouts, so many little seedlings and plants are lining our deck right now. All at different stages, we just planted more seeds this weekend so we would have a nice little cycle of crops coming due without the overabundance and wondering what are we going to do with all of these. Garden should hopefully be complete this week, fence and all, and ready for the plants this weekend. I also made another 5 gallons of laundry detergent and got all of those placed into their containers, ready for a few months of laundry all for about 98 cents! I’m so thrifty it’s scary 🙂

pieI think I topped off my weekend by making a wonderful key lime pie! I made my first key lime pie about 13 or 14 years ago and it was not very edible. Never attempted the pie again until this weekend and now that I’ve made it and ‘taste tested’ it I really wonder what I did to that first one because it’s one of the easiest pies I’ve ever made!

We went to the market Sunday morning and bought about a dozen limes for $2, couldn’t beat that deal so I came home and used about half of those to make my pie. Later this week we’re planning on some cilantro lime rice (inspired by Chipotle’s oh so yummy rice!) and I think I may finish off those limes by making some lime bars. Feels like summer!

Here’s the recipe that I found for my very easy and yummy key lime pie filling:

  • 4 large egg yolks
  • Zest of 5 limes
  • About ½ C lime juice (5 limes)
  • 14 oz of sweetened condensed milk

Wisk the 4 egg yolks and lime zest together for a minute or limestwo until everything is well incorporated, slowly wisk in the sweetened condensed milk. Once the mixture looks smooth, wisk in the lime juice until everything is fully incorporated. Cover with plastic wrap and let set for 30 minutes while you prepare your crust.

I made my own graham cracker crust but you could use a store bought crust as well. My crust consisted of about 8 graham crackers that I ran through the food processor until they were finely crushed. I then added 5 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of sugar and pulsed the mixture together for a couple of seconds until mixture was incorporated. Pressed everything out into my pie pan and baked at 325 for about 15 minutes. While the crust was still hot I poured in my lime filling and baked for about another 20 minutes at 325. Let cool then chill in fridge prior to serving. Mmmm delicious! Even my picky 11 year old loved it!

Leave a Reply

