Niagara Falls Getaway

These weeks keep ticking by, I can hardly believe I only have 7 weeks left before baby #3 arrives (or darn near 7 weeks). Somehow I always end up putting off the most important things for last. Hoping to register with the hospital in the next week or two and need to pick out a good car seat in the next week or two as well. My husband may kill me if I don’t do all of the obvious things before the baby arrives J In the back of my mind I still wonder what crazy thing will happen with this birth, I always have to be up to some crazy antic on my delivery day!

With only seven weeks to go we decided to do one last hurrah with the family before the baby arrives and we’re all stuck indoors for a few months. We chose something close to home but someplace we haven’t really been to or haven’t been to in a long while. Something that would be family friendly and would require little walking or strain from the preggo woman! So we chose to go to Niagara Falls!

falls1

I was probably about 2 or 3 when I went so I obviously don’t remember anything from that trip and my husband was just a child when he went so his memories were a little foggy as well. The falls were only about 3 ½ hours from our house so it was perfect for driving with a toddler.

family

Now I wish I could say a good time was had by all but apparently 11427237_10103498560299144_7925372029017030814_nmy water shy toddler did not enjoy parts of our trip. I know he’s not a huge fan of water, he’s also not a huge fan of being around people but I thought this was a low key event and it wasn’t even as busy as I thought it would be. Let’s just say there was nothing but tears for the entire Maid of the Mist tour and Cave of the Winds.

drewMy 11 year old however had a blast. He LOVED the two events that his younger brother hated. He was soaking wet and had to go back to the hotel to change but he loved every minute of it and just stood in falls, feeling the cool water rush against him. No raincoat was going to protect that kid!

Some of the other exhibits left us less than impressed but the park itself was beautiful and for the most part we had a good time. We probably could have used a few more hours there to finish viewing everything but all in all we did everything we initially planned to do and had fun.

overlook

Now we are back home, where I can sleep in the comforts of my own bed, with my clean carpets. I think we can all say that I my least favorite part of any trip is staying in the hotel. I don’t like the idea germ filled beds and carpets and nasty bathrooms that you don’t know who was in before you or if the cleaning staff properly sanitizes things. If I wasn’t 8 months pregnant I would have preferred a tent on the dirt ground, I could at least walk around barefoot there or let my kids run around and play without freaking out J

Leave a Reply

